Four of Indiana's top leaders in community economic development are named each year during our annual summit. Winners receive statewide recognition, an award, and a cash donation ($1,000-$2,500) to a nonprofit organization of their choosing!   

Nominations are being accepted through November 13, 2020


Michael Carroll Community Economic Development Leadership Award

Recognizes an industry "veteran" who has supported, lead, advocated, and improved Hoosier quality of life for many years.  Nominees of this signature award may work with nonprofit, government, or private organizations.  

Past Award winners include:

2020   Bruce Baird, Renew Indianapolis, Inc.

2019   Tom Fodor, Morning Light Inc.

2018   Pat Gamble-Moore, PNC

2016   James Taylor, John Boner Neighborhood Centers

2015   Maynard J. Scales, Fort Wayne Housing Authority

2014   Bill Taft, LISC

2013   Jack Brummett, Great Lakes Capital Fund

2012   Mark Lindenlaub, Housing Partnerships Inc. and Aging and Community Services of South Central Indiana

2011   Jacob Sipe, IHCDA

2010   Linda Klink, Deputy Mayor of the City of Logansport

Robert O. Zdenek Staff Member of the Year Award

Recognizes outstanding professional leadership of a staff person in a community economic development organization. Embodies dedication, commitment, and innovative leadership within their own organization. 

Past Award winners include:

2020   Albert Brownlee, Genesis Outreach, Inc.

2019   George Okantey, Purdue Extension

2018   Mark Gould, 1st Source Bank

2016   Gladys Muhammad, South Bend Heritage Foundation

2015   Rodney Stockment, IHCDA

2014   Chris Maples, Partners in Housing

2013   David Miller, Hoosier Uplands

2012   M. Ann Helmke, Vincent Village

2011   Bruce Baird, Indianapolis Housing Agency

2010   Patricia Lewis, FHLBI

Key Award for Supportive Services Program of the Year

Recognizes a community development program that is dedicated to improving quality of life for Hoosiers. It is innovative with a unique model that is service-oriented for other organizations within Indiana. 

Past Award winners include:

2020   Food Prescription for Better Health

2019   Indiana Supportive Housing Institute, CSH and IHCDA

2018   Building Better Neighborhoods, Ball State University

2016   Back Home in Indiana Alliance

2015   Robert Miller Veterans Program (Miller's Vets), Center for the Homeless

2014   Neighborhood Spotlight, Legacy Foundation

2013   Public Allies, INRC

2012   East 10th Street United Methodist Children and Youth Center

2011   Harvestland Farm, Aspire Indiana

2010   Robinson Community Learning Center - Youth Entrepreneur Program

John Niederman Rural Development Leadership Award

Recognizes outstanding leaders in rural community economic development.  Individuals have demonstrated excellent leadership that has improved quality of life, influenced policies, and fostered opportunities for growth in rural Indiana.

Past Award winners include:

2020   Michelle Pitcher, Pace Community Action Agency, Inc.

2019   David Miller, Hoosier Uplands

2018   Larry Gautsche, La Casa Inc.

2016   Chuck Heintzelman, Milestone Ventures Inc.

2015   Abby Hoy, Economic Development Group of Wabash County Inc. 

2014   Dr. Janet Ayres, Purdue University Department of Agriculture Economics


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software