• Home
  • Annual Awards

Prosperity Indiana Annual Awards

Congratulations to the 2020 Award Nominees! Each year, we celebrate dedicated individuals and innovative programs that have improved quality of life in Indiana communities. Winners are selected by distinguished leaders in the economic community development field and are honored during the Awards Luncheon at the Prosperity Indiana Summit on February 18, 2020.

Michael Carroll Community Economic Development Leadership Award

This award recognizes a person in the state who has exhibited exceptional advocacy to further support the community economic development industry. Nominees may be nonprofit staff, board members, local/state government, funders, or others in the field. Winners are selected based on their contributions to the affordable housing and community economic development field, their exceptional advocacy work, and the impact of their leadership. 

Past Award winners include:

2019 Tom Fodor, Morning Light Inc.

2018 Pat Gamble-Moore, PNC

2016 James Taylor, John Boner Neighborhood Centers

2015 Maynard J. Scales, Fort Wayne Housing Authority

2014 Bill Taft, LISC

2013 Jack Brummett, Great Lakes Capital Fund

2012 Mark Lindenlaub, Housing Partnerships Inc. and Aging and Community Services of South Central Indiana

2011 Jacob Sipe, IHCDA

2010 Linda Klink, Deputy Mayor of the City of Logansport

2019 Michael Carroll Award winner Tom Fodor

Robert O. Zdenek Staff Member of the Year Award

This award recognizes outstanding professional leadership and commitment of a staff person working for a housing or community economic development organization. Nominees may include Executive Directors, housing staff, administrative staff, or any other staff member who embodies the dedication and principles of community economic development as well as innovation and leadership within their own organization. 

Past Award winners include:

2019 George Okantey, Purdue Extension

2018  Mark Gould, 1st Source Bank

2016  Gladys Muhammad, South Bend Heritage Foundation

2015  Rodney Stockment, IHCDA

2014  Chris Maples, Partners in Housing

2013  David Miller, Hoosier Uplands

2012  M. Ann Helmke, Vincent Village

2011  Bruce Baird, Indianapolis Housing Agency

2010 Patricia Lewis, FHLBI

2019 Staff Member of the Year George Okantey

Key Award for Supportive Services Program of the Year

This Key Award honors excellence and innovation in a service-oriented (non-construction) community development initiative. To be considered for the Key Award, the program should be a leader in the area of service provision and/or volunteerism and provide a unique program model for other organizations within Indiana. Winners are selected based on the program's creativity, evidence of cooperation, and impact on the community. 

Past Award winners include:

2019   Indiana Supportive Housing Institute, CSH and IHCDA

2018   Building Better Neighborhoods, Ball State University

2016   Back Home in Indiana Alliance

2015   Robert Miller Veterans Program (Miller's Vets), Center for the Homeless

2014   Neighborhood Spotlight, Legacy Foundation

2013   Public Allies, INRC

2012   East 10th Street United Methodist Children and Youth Center

2011   Harvestland Farm, Aspire Indiana

2010   Robinson Community Learning Center - Youth Entrepreneur Program

2019 Key Award winners CSH and IHCDA for the Indiana Supportive Housing Institute

John Niederman Rural Development Leadership Award

The Rural Development Leadership Award is designed to recognize outstanding leaders in the field of rural community economic development. This honor will be bestowed on individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in improving the quality of life, influencing policies, and fostering opportunities for growth and development for the betterment of rural Indiana. Award winners embody social entrepreneurship, prioritize collaboration, and are committed to innovation. 

Past Award winners include:

2019  David Miller, Hoosier Uplands

2018   Larry Gautsche, La Casa Inc.

2016   Chuck Heintzelman, Milestone Ventures Inc.

2015   Abby Hoy, Economic Development Group of Wabash County Inc. 

2014   Dr. Janet Ayres, Purdue University Department of Agriculture Economics

2019 Rural Development Leadership Award winner David Miller

Prosperity Indiana
1099 N. Meridian Street, Suite 170
Indianapolis, IN 46204 
Phone // 317.222.1221 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software